Wednesday, February 15, 2012

India Flag Meaning and History

Indian Flag Description:
The flag of India consists of three equal sized horizontal stripes - the top stripe is orange (saffron); the middle one is white; and the bottom stripe is green. In the middle of the white stripe and the flag is a blue emblem (Ashoka Chakra), a 24-spoked wheel which represents the wheel of the law.

Indian Flag Meaning:
At the time of its initial introduction, in 1931, the Indian flag's colors represented the two main ethnic groups of India - the saffron stripe represented the Hindu people; and the green stripe represented the Muslim people. The white stripe white represented the peace desired between them and the truth. An updated meaning has interpreted the saffron symbol as representing courage and sacrifice; the white representing purity and truth; and the green standing for faith, fertility and chivalry. The Wheel of Law's 24 spokes are said to represent each hour of the day, as well as the endless circle of life.

Indian Flag History:
The Indian flag was adopted on July 22, 1947. Just before India received independence from Britain on Aug. 15, 1947, the nationalist political party, the Indian National Congress, which included Mohandas Gandhi, adopted the design for the national flag of India. The Indian flag was based on a flag first introduced by the Indian National Congress in 1931.

Interesting Indian Flag Facts:
The Indian national flag is also known as the 'tiranga', which in Hindi means 'tricolor'.
As of January 15, 2002, Indian citizens were allowed to fly the Indian flag throughout the year. Earlier they were only allowed to do so on special days such as Republic Day and Independence Day. The Delhi High Court ruled that displaying the Indian flag was part of the fundamental right to freedom of expression.

0 yorum:

flag meaning and history

flag pictures

country history